Speech

Persuasive Speech Research

Persuasive speeches start with the same factual resources you used in your informational speech and add some additional specialized ones that focus on providing sources that focus explicitly on presenting multiple points of view on specific topics.

So continue to make use of the specialized informative speech sources below.

Use These Databases to Start

Because persuasive speeches rely on factual, reliable information as well as knowledge of your position. Start with these.

You can also check to see if we have any specialized databases that focus on your topic. For example we have an excellent database that covers scientific topics called Gale Science-in-Context. Use the subject drop down to see what we have.

Databases That Include Multiple Sides of Contentious Issues

To be prepared for both your own position and those that may be brought up to contest yours, use these special databases and resources.

After That

Only after you've explored the above, search Primo 1Search. Because it returns so many results it isn't the best first step for your project. If you are interested in a specific type of material, such as Articles or books in the library's collection, make sure to select the appropriate Search Index in the 1Search search box. If you have no or limited experience using Primo 1Search, you are strongly encouraged to watch the video below.

Search most of DACC Library's resources -- EasySearch

Find books, videos and articles by running a keyword search in this searchbox. You can also search specific databases through the A-Z List of Databases. 

I-Share - Search the other I-Share Library Collections -- physical items only