Informational Speech Assignment - Speech - LibGuides at DACC Library Skip to Main Content

Speech

Resources for Speech students

Recommended Special Databases

Use These Databases to Start

Because informational speeches focus on presenting straightforward reliable information rather than an argumentative position, resources that provide ready access to reliable information is critical. Start with these.

Credo Reference Academic Core
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Gather background information on your topic from hundreds of full-text general and subject-specific reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos. Full text.
Gale Virtual Reference
This collection includes basic reference entries in philosophy, history, science, medicine, culture, geography, music, psychology, and some criminal justice. All of the material is of high quality.
Sage e-Reference
An encyclopedia collection focusing largely on the social sciences: psychology, criminal justice, sociology, gender studies. Full text.

USAFacts
Non-partisan web site that pulls together data from federal, state and local government sources and presents it in a unified whole.

You can also check to see if we have any specialized databases that focus on your topic. For example we have an excellent database that covers scientific topics called Gale Science-in-Context. Use the subject drop down to see what we have.

A-Z List of Databases
Use this list to search for relevant databases on your topic. Use the All Subjects drop down at the top to limit to your area of interest.

After That

Only after you've explored the above, search Primo 1Search. Because it returns so many results it isn't the best first step for your project. If you are interested in a specific type of material, such as Articles or books in the library's collection, make sure to select the appropriate Search Index in the 1Search search box. If you have no or limited experience using Primo 1Search, you are strongly encouraged to watch the video below.

Search most of DACC Library's resources -- EasySearch

Find books, videos and articles by running a keyword search in this searchbox. You can also search specific databases through the A-Z List of Databases.

I-Share - Search the other I-Share Library Collections -- physical items only

Library Home
Library LibGuides
Find a Database
Noodletools
Faculty Resources
Library General Information