This is the "Home" page of the "Find a Database" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Find a Database   Tags: books, databases, ebooks, library, research, search  

Find links to all of the library's electronic resources.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://dacc.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Article and Subject Databases

  • Black Culture and Thought
    A collection of primary source material related to African-American history.
  • Bloom's Literature
    Literature resources -- biography, criticism, summaries and reviews. Also includes videos of performances of select works and help with how to write about certain authors.
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
    Full-text access to the Chronicle online, including a special section dedicated to community colleges and the job listings.
  • EBSCOHost
    A multi-subject resource. Select the best databases for your topic before proceeding to the SEARCH screen. Some databases are completely full-text but most are a combination of full-text and citations. For a citation-only source, follow the 360 Link to Full Text to check on full-text availability.
  • Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals
    All scholarly journal articles. Full text from 1995 on. Use the Advanced Search, limit to Subscribed Journal Only and restrict date range to 1995 to present.
  • Fine Arts and Music Collection
    This database focuses on content in a full range of the arts: dance, film, painting, architecture, photography, sculpture, music, and crafting. Includes both full text and citations.
  • Illinois Periodicals Online
    A collection of Illinois publications accessible in electronic format.
  • Issues and Controversies
    Full-text. Information on a wide range of controversial topics from a balanced perspective. Also almanac and general encyclopedia information.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text. Primarily a news database (with a second specialty in business news). But Lexis is also an important legal database and provides access to major business resources.
  • Liebert e-Journals
    Principally a medical journal publisher. Full-text access through 2010.
  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Full-text. Multi-topic database containing a range of resources including reference, e-book essays, journal & magazine articles, newspaper articles, multimedia, primary sources, and information about and links to web sites.
  • Sage Journals Online
    Scholarly journals, almost all in full text. A wide range of subjects.
  • Women and Social Movements in the United States
    This collection contains primary source documents and supporting materials about women involved in social movements in the United States. Since this is the Scholar's edition of the database, it also includes access to Notable Women and Commissions on the Status of Women

Streaming Video Collections

Special Types of Resources

  • HarpWeek
    Harper's Weekly Magazine 1857-1912. The full text of this classic American magazine, which covered all of the major events of the later 19th and early 20th century. Look up primary source coverage of the Civil War, the transcontinental railroad and the sinking of the Titanic.
  • Books in Print
    Search for publishing information and reviews about books.
  • CAMIO Image Archive
    Worldwide collection of digital images.
  • CARLI Image Database
    Image collections of the CARLI libraries. It is critical to select the collection you wish to search to avoid numerous off-topic results. Currently there are more than 120 separate collections in the database.
  • Saskia Digital Image Archive
    A collection within the CARLI collections, so it must be selected specifically as the object of your search. Contains more than 30,000 images from major art collections and major art texts.
  • Illinois Sanborn Maps
    Historical maps of Illinois developed for purposes of fire insurance. Provide details of town development over time.
 

Searching for Print Books & Videos

Search for books and videos in the DACC library using the box below:

Search ALL the libraries in the system using I-Share:

For further information on finding books.

The Mobile Version of the DACC Online Catalog.

What's New! Check out the library's newest titles.

DACC Catalog -- Classic Version


To search farther afield for print books:

Danville Public Library

SHARE Catalog -- the library catalog of the regional public and school library system

WorldCat -- a catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide, useful for determining whether books on a subject exist or not, and whether any library has them

E-Books

  • E-Brary
    More than 80,000 e-books on a full range of academic subjects as well as fiction titles.
  • EBSCOHost E-Book Collection
    Collection of titles (mostly older - pre-2000). Choose eBook Collection as your ONLY database (de-select Academic Search Premier).
  • Springer Medical Book Collection
    Select "books" and then "medicine". Uncheck "Include Preview Only Links" to view only those titles you have full text access to. These titles are most effectively searched via the 1Search tool.

Reference Sources

  • Dictionary of Literary Biography
    More than 400 volumes of detailed information on authors, literary genres, aesthetic movements, and literary events of note.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    The online version of the classic encyclopedia.
  • Encyclopedia of the Cold War
    Online access to the most comprehensive resource documenting the major conflict of the latter half of the twentieth century.
  • Gale Virtual Reference
    Reference sources in philosophy, history, science, medicine, culture, geography, music, and psychology
  • Historical Statistics of the U.S.
    The history of the U.S. presented in the form of statistical information.
  • Music Online: Classical Scores Vol. 1
    Contains over 400,000 pages of the most important classical music scores, manuscripts, and previously unpublished material, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 25,000 musical scores.
  • Sage e-Reference
    An encyclopedia collection focusing largely on the social sciences: psychology, criminal justice, sociology, gender studies
  • Salem History
    Biographical resources -- current topics include Latinos and Latinas and Notorious Lives.
  • Salem Literature
    A small collection of e-books available through the publisher: Critical Insights Authors Series -- Gwendolyn Brooks and Toni Morrison; Critical Insights Works Series -- I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  • Statistical Abstract of United States
    Rich statistical information about the United States pulled together from U.S. Census and other government sources. The topics covered by the information are diverse.
 

Library 1Search

1Search looks for keywords in MOST but NOT ALL of the library's resources.

Specific database will be listed elsewhere on this page.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches the web for scholarly resources. However, much of what it finds will be things that will require a fee for access. If you select DACC as your home library, Google will include links to the databases that contain articles that turn up in your searches so that you can access them for free.



Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip